Laptop screen displaying "WCAG 2.2"

W3C Publishes the First Public Working Draft of Updated Guidelines

The Accessibility Guidelines Working Group at the W3C has published a first public working draft of WCAG 2.2 and has created a blog post on the topic with some details. Here are some quick facts to keep in mind about WCAG 2.2:
1. This is a working draft, not a final recommendation.

This first draft was likely released at this time in preparation for the CSUN Assistive Technology Conference.

2. WCAG 2.2 is expected to be a recommendation around November 2020. 

If you would like to submit feedback to the Accessibility Guidelines Working Group, you can do so on Github or via the W3C mailing list.

3. WCAG 2.2 builds on WCAG 2.1 just as WCAG 2.1 built on 2.0.

The new success criteria will be additions to the existing guidelines.

4. There are likely to be up to 12 new success criteria.

There is currently only one new success criterion in this draft of WCAG 2.2 (Focus Visible Enhanced).

5. Some criteria may change in level.

For example, an existing criterion may be moved from Level AA to Level A. Since most accessibility policies require Level A and AA, a change like this will have little or no impact on business requirements.

6. There is unlikely to be a WCAG 2.3. 

Going forward, most effort will be put into a future version of accessibility guidelines – a “WCAG 3.0.” No official name is set. A first public working draft of that document is due out soon.

7. WCAG 2.2’s adoption into the current regulations is unknown at this time.

  • We have no details suggesting that it would be taken up by the US government into Section 508
  • After WCAG 2.2 is released it will likely be referenced at some point by accessibility advocates in settlement agreements and litigation – but not until 2021
  • The standards body who created EU Standard EN 301 549 will examine WCAG 2.2 criteria for inclusion in the EU standard – but this consideration is still several months out and we have no confirmation of specific details

Level Access customers should be aware of the updates as something to consider and monitor when more criteria are put forth. For those interested, contributions or comments to the W3C are welcome. Once the criteria are finalized, the WCAG 2.2 standards or best practices will be added to AMP.

At present, Level Access has three team members – including Chief Accessibility Officer Jonathan Avila – who are part of the W3C’s Accessibility Guidelines Working Group helping to define the WCAG 2.2 standards.

Questions? Reach out to us.