It's official: Level Access and eSSENTIAL Accessibility are becoming one! Read the Press Release.
Pyramid with 5 levels of DAMM Maturity - Initial, Managed, Defined, Quantitatively Managed, Optimizing

In my last post in the Digital Accessibility Maturity Model (DAMM) Series I detailed the Testing and Validation Dimension of DAMM.  In this post I’ll discuss the Support and Documentation Dimension, the aspects and artifacts associated with this dimension, and what each of the five maturity levels looks like for the this Dimension. (DAMM Definitions and Acronyms)

The Support and Documentation Dimension measures the degree of maturity with which an organization providers accessible support services and documentation. This includes ensuring that support systems meet the communication needs of people with disabilities and that documentation is provided in an accessible or alternative format.


  • Support Process – The level of maturity associated with providing support in an accessible fashion.
  • Accessibility Issue Handling – Organizational maturity regarding the handling of reported accessibility issues. This includes ensuring accessibility issues are identified and escalated on an appropriate basis. This aspect requires a defined process for customers to contact the organization about accessibility bugs and those issues to be addressed and resolved in a timely fashion.
  • Accessible Documentation – Organizational maturity in providing accessible documentation to users. Includes both native provisioning of accessible electronic documentation, and the ability to provide alternative formats of that documentation as needed on request.


  • Accessibility Features Document – Guide for creating an example of an accessible document.
  • Accessibility Resolution Policy – A document that defines the manner in which accessibility issues are handled and resolved.
  • Accessibility Issue Submission Form – A publicly available accessibility issue form.

Maturity Levels

Level 1 – Initial

  • No formal accessibility support or documentation structure is in place across the organization.
  • Support and accessible documentation is reactively provided to persons with disabilities (PWDs).

Level 2 – Managed

  • Accessible documentation infrastructure is in place, including accessible document templates, training and tools.
  • There are accessibility validation checkpoints for content management systems as part of the workflow.
  • Defined support process for managing requests from PwDs.
    • Ticket tracking infrastructure for logging data associated with managing accessibility requests.
    • Ticket tracking system linked to bug tracking system for converting support calls to confirmed ICT accessibility defects.

Level 3 – Defined

  • Active Management of support calls involving non-compliance and escalation paths are documented, including steps for reporting, managing and monitoring remediation and any reasonable accommodations offered to PwDs.
  • Customer support representatives are adequately trained.
  • Customer support positions are adequately staffed.
  • Lines of Business (LoB) produce accessibility documentation as part of product and service development lifecycle.
  • Vendor relationships or internal infrastructure necessary to produce alternative formats exists.

Level 4 – Quantitatively Managed

  • Enterprise and LoB metrics gathered on accessibility support related guidelines established by Service Level Agreement (SLA).

Level 5 – Optimizing

  • Accessibility issues are used to drive future development.
  • Surveys and input from PwDs are used to improve support processes.

Coming Up

In my next post I’ll discuss Dimension #9 of DAMM – the Procurement Dimension – which measures the degree of maturity associated with including accessibility considerations in the procurement and vendor management activities of an organization.