It's official: Level Access and eSSENTIAL Accessibility are becoming one! Read the Press Release.
Pyramid with 5 levels of DAMM Maturity - Initial, Managed, Defined, Quantitatively Managed, Optimizing

In my last post in the Digital Accessibility Maturity Model (DAMM) Series I detailed the Procurement Dimension of DAMM.  In this post I’ll discuss the Training Dimension, the aspects and artifacts associated with this dimension, and what each of the five maturity levels looks like for the this Dimension. (Policies and Standards and Development Lifecycle Dimensions as it supports their effective organizational implementation.


  • Training – The degree to which a clear and well defined training program is deployed across the covered portions of the organization.
  • Certification – The degree to which specific job roles must complete a certification process for their role.
  • Job Aids – The level of support provided for specific job roles and real world implementation of accessibility activities in support of the accessibility policy and standards.
  • Rollout Plan – For young programs and programs that are getting started, the maturity and implementation of a rollout plan for the digital accessibility policy.


  • Accessibility Training Plan – Training plan defining how the organization will implement and maintain accessibility training, making the training presentations themselves accessible, and tracking compliance of employees taking training.
  • Training Calendar – a published training calendar of when accessibility training is available.

Maturity Levels

Level 1 – Initial

  • Training on digital accessibility, if provided at all, is on a reactive, ad-hoc basis.
  • There is no regularly scheduled accessibility training or mandatory accessibility training.
  • Accessibility training completion records are not retained.

Level 2 – Managed

  • Training plan and course curriculum is defined for all impacted stakeholders in the enterprise.
  • Training is tailored to employees’ job description.

Level 3 – Defined

  • Disability awareness training / communications delivered to all ICT Staff enabling them to understand the rationale for ICT Accessibility, the effects on disabled users of poor design and the typical issues they face.
  • Trained and resourced staff to direct and implement training required for staff to successfully meet Accessibility Standards.
  • Advanced training delivered properly to specific development lifecycle roles.
  • Disability awareness across all roles that impact product or services development.
  • Increasing levels of technical complexity in training provided based on needs to the role, including:
    • General training provided to all staff;
    • Design training provided to creative content development staff; and
    • Advanced training provided to development staff.
  • Accessibility requirements incorporated in product/service re-designs.
  • Establish a Staff Competency Framework in conjunction with Human Resources, including compliance with Accessibility Standards as part of staff professional skills development schemes and staff personal objectives.

Level 4 – Quantitatively Managed

  • Training quality assessed and training content updated on a regular schedule.
  • New areas of training and needs are actively identified based on overall program metrics and trending.

Level 5 – Optimizing

  • Training is actively pushed to Lines of Business and specific individuals where metrics warrant.
  • Training updates include modifications based on survey feedback.

Coming Up

In my next post I’ll discuss the first dimension of DAMM-HR – Recruiting and Job Application – which measures the maturity of the recruiting and job application process as it pertains to people with disabilities.