Complimentary e-book

The Complete Guide to Section 508 Compliance

Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 mandates that U.S. federal agencies create, buy, and use information and communications technology (ICT) that is accessible to people of all abilities. Vendors that do business with federal agencies must also ensure their ICT meets Section 508 standards.

What exactly does Section 508 compliance entail—and how can agencies and their vendors achieve it? This guide provides a comprehensive introduction to Section 508, covering the law’s specific criteria for accessibility and the importance of adhering to them.

get the four steps to take to meet section 508 compliance

Cover of the Complete Guide to Section 508 Compliance

Achieve and maintain compliance with Section 508

Download this guide to learn:

  • iconHow Section 508 defines accessibility for information and communications technology (ICT)
  • iconThe consequences that federal agencies and vendors face when they fail to meet Section 508 requirements
  • iconWhat organizations can do to adhere to Section 508 standards

What is information and communications technology (ICT)?

In Section 508, the term “information and communications technology,” or “ICT,” encompasses a wide range of hardware and software products used to store, process, and share information or messages. Digital properties that are considered ICT include websites, internal and external software, mobile applications, intranet sites, and electronic documents like PDFs. Importantly, Section 508 also requires that all documentation and support for ICT must be accessible.

Thumbnail of the first page of the Complete Guide to Section 508 Compliance showing the introduction of Section 508: Who, what, why, and how

Trusted by hundreds of the world's leading brands

Accessibility question? We can help.

Talk to us