Complimentary e-book

The Must-Have WCAG Checklist

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) provide technical specifications to improve the accessibility of websites and many other digital experiences for people with a wide range of disabilities—including auditory, cognitive, neurological, physical, speech, and visual disabilities.

In this interactive guide, you’ll learn more about each WCAG standard, as well as various methods for testing accessibility. Plus, you’ll get our complete checklist, compiled by accessibility experts, to use as you review your digital properties.

Download guide

Cover image showing the title The must have WCAG checklist

What’s in the guide?

  • icon An explanation of the WCAG standards, versions, and levels
  • icon A breakdown of each WCAG success criterion
  • icon
  •  An overview of different accessibility testing methods
  • icon An interactive checklist of all WCAG 2.1 and 2.2 success criteria

WCAG and ADA Compliance

While compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)and WCAG conformance have become almost synonymous over the years, it’s important to understand the distinction. Since WCAG itself is not a law, but a set of accessibility standards, there is no such thing as “compliance” with WCAG. However, WCAG can be, and has been, incorporated into the law as a standard for evaluating accessibility compliance, as in Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. The ADA does not specifically state that conforming with WCAG standards is a requirement for compliance, but WCAG was designed to help website owners achieve the level of accessibility that is required by laws like the ADA. To remember this distinction, it can be helpful to think of accessibility laws such as the ADA as the end destination—i.e., web accessibility for all—while WCAG maps out how to get there. Learn more about how WCAG conformance matters for compliance with global accessibility laws in our guide.

Image from one of the pages inside the book - The Must-Have WCAG 2.1 Checklist showing a table of WCAG success criteria.

Trusted by hundreds of the world's leading brands

Accessibility question? We can help.

Talk to us